Transforming Fear to Joy

YOGA ACTIONS for Ardha Chandrasana

Yoga is a practice of integration, which unites mind, body, and spirit. The five koshas aptly represent and illustrate this holistic experience. Uniting our three more accessible bodies — Annamaya (physical), Pranamaya (energy), and Manomaya (mental-emotional) — yokes the healing powers inherent in every human being. As these seemingly magical forces awaken and strengthen within, the still-silent space of the Vijnanamaya (intuition) and Anandamaya koshes open up to us. Here is where we witness, experience, and express our sublime nature, our truly divine Self.

To further your own integration, practice the following three yoga actions in Ardha Chandrasana. Click on the audio file below for my verbal instructions.

  • Yoga Action (Annamaya Kosha):
    – draw the femur (upper leg) bones up into the hip sockets of both legs. Remember, the hip socket is NOT the outer hip but rather is located halfway between the pubic bone and front hip bone.
  • Yoga Action (Pranamaya Kosha):
    – draw both sides of the tailbone down toward the heel of the extended leg.
  • Yoga Action (Manomaya Kosha):
    – rest in the pose by silently repeating to yourself “I am breathing in. I am breathing out.”

NOTE: It may take more than one pose before you awaken these areas in your body and you begin to feel the arising sensations. In that case, apply the three yoga actions to the following poses —


For more asanas, sequences, and yoga actions for standing poses, click here.


Picture of Author: Helen Maupin

Author: Helen Maupin

Helen is passionate about transforming fear into love — from her, for her, for all. She expresses her commitment to transformation through writing poetry, self-awareness and yoga books, co-designing organizations into adaptive enterprises and deepening her daily meditation and yoga practices.


Recent Posts by Helen Maupin